James Bond

I finally finished reading every James Bond book by Ian Fleming!

Nr Name Year Order of film release Note
1. Casino Royale[33] 1953 21 (or 5 if the Columbia Pictures spoof is considered, or 1 if the 1954 TV version is considered) (1)
2. Live and Let Die[34] 1954 08
3. Moonraker[35] 1955 11 (2)
4. Diamonds Are Forever[36] 1956 07
5. From Russia, with Love[37] 1957 02
6. Dr. No[38] 1958 01
7. Goldfinger[39] 1959 03
8. For Your Eyes Only[40] 1960 12 , 14-A View to a Kill, 22-Quantum of Solace (Title Only) (3,8)
9. Thunderball[41] 1961 04 (4)
10. The Spy Who Loved Me[42] 1962 10 (Title Only) (5)
11. On Her Majesty’s Secret Service[43] 1963 06
12. You Only Live Twice[44] 1964 05
13. The Man with the Golden Gun[45] 1965 09 (6)
14. Octopussy and The Living Daylights[46] 1966 13 & 15 (7,8)


(1) First US paperback edition of Casino Royale was retitled You Asked for It.

(2) First US paperback edition of Moonraker was retitled Too Hot to Handle.

(3) Short story collection: (i) “From a View to a Kill,” (ii) “For Your Eyes Only,” (iii) “Risico,” (iv) “Quantum of Solace”, and (v) “The Hildebrand Rarity.”

(4) Subject of a legal battle which led to the book’s storyline also being credited to Kevin McClory and Jack Whittingham; see the controversy over Thunderball

(5) Fleming gives co-author credit to “Vivienne Michel”, the fictional heroine of the book; Fleming refused to allow a paperback edition to be published in the UK, but one was eventually published after his death. His agreement with Albert R. Broccoli and Harry Saltzman only allowed the use of the title for a film.

(6) For years, it has been alleged that others may have completed this novel as Fleming died before revising the manuscript. Many Fleming biographers dispute this; see the controversy over The Man With The Golden Gun.

(7) Posthumously compiled short story collection. Originally published with two stories: (i) “Octopussy” and (ii) “The Living Daylights”. The 1967 paperback edition’s title was shortened to Octopussy and a third story, “The Property of a Lady”, increased its page count. In the 1990s, the collection’s longer, original title was restored, and with the 2002 edition, the story, “007 in New York” (originally published in some editions of Thrilling Cities (see below) was added.

(8) In 2008, a collection entitled “Quantum of Solace” was released including the contents of “For Your Eyes Only” and “Octopussy and The Living Daylights” (all stories from the 2002 edition).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: